If You Don’t Like House Projects, Don’t Move the TV

3999386250_475a5affee_zI love Pinterest. The power of Pinterest is that it lets you feel you are a do-it-yourselfer merely by “pinning” and saving DIY projects. It’s a known fact that Step 1 of any project is saving the directions for it. Ok, I just made that up, but it feels true. I have pretty pictures of all sorts of fantasy projects, but if I wanted to do any of them in real life, I would actually have to learn to use tools. So my decorating philosophy has boiled down to: Remodel only if a natural disaster forces you to.

I guess you could say the natural disaster called “life” hit our family room. That, and we moved the TV (word of advice: if you don’t like home projects, don’t move your TV). When we joined the 21st century and replaced our boxy old dinosaur, the new TV went in a different spot, across the room on top of a thin bookcase (where the dinosaur would never have fit). You know how you think you’re going to make one little change, but it turns into a dozen huge changes?…

In order to fit the TV on the bookcase, the wall shelves hanging above it had to come down. Which left bat cave-size holes in the wall. Oh, and I forgot to tell you about the ceiling leak we had a few months back which resulted in huge swaths of newly-spackled drywall needing to be painted. When you don’t have an endless budget with which to pay people to do your projects, you have to do them yourself. Luckily for me, Rob has good working knowledge of tools and he also has a crucial DIY skill: he can teach himself from watching YouTube tutorials. I don’t know how he does it, except that it seems to involve a lot of muttering under his breath.

I painted the room while Rob was out of town (I highly recommend this approach). It only took four trips to the paint store. I made new curtains. This went well. Since I was repurposing an old tablecloth, the thing was already sewn on three sides, and I only had to rip out and redo the remaining seam once. I didn’t even break any sewing machine needles this time. The pillow covers went well, too. I finished them and realized I had sewed an extra seam all the way around that I didn’t actually need. I’m calling it “decorative stitching.”

After you paint a room, the last thing you want to do is put nail holes back in the walls. I was browsing Pinterest and saw some gorgeous rustic shelves. I reasoned that if I had a long shelf, I could prop my artwork on it, change things out easily, and avoid extra holes in the walls. It was brilliant. It was gorgeous in my mind. It was… dependent on someone (Rob) who actually knows how to use tools.

I showed him the shelf photos. He wasn’t fazed at all. He jumped on Craig’slist and found a guy selling barn boards just down the road. Within a week, he had built me a beautiful new shelf. It was everything I pictured it to be. It was a modern-day miracle, I tell you. We had completed everything we set out to do in the time frame we wanted to do it. The real room looked as gorgeous as my fantasy. AND we were still married.

So that’s the story of our first, and probably last, Pinterest project. Now I’m going to go take a nap. The end.

Photo credit: shoesfullofdust via VisualHunt / CC BY

Leave a Reply

